ClubRalliart.com  
  #1  
Old 06-07-2011, 03:57 PM
MTZL's Avatar
MTZL MTZL is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mountain Zone Lancer (MTZL)
Posts: 4,060
Default Boost Gauge

I was asked by fellow RA owner how to install Boost Gauge.

I have never install a boost gauge but I figure I post a drawing with a simple diagram.


(I cant spell gauge, I know! :P)

If anybody has a picture of there boost gauge installed, please feel free to join in & post a pic of your engine bay.
Of course it need to be powered so wiring is any story but if anybody can post a pic of where it gets its power would be nice too.
__________________

Last edited by MTZL; 06-07-2011 at 03:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:02 PM
Ralliart23's Avatar
Ralliart23 Ralliart23 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CANADA
Posts: 446
Default

i can post my pics later tonight if no one has yet!
__________________
2010 Ralliart - Tarmac Black

Smoked Lights, Vortex Generator, Red Mitsu Logos, XXR 522 18x9.5 et38, Falken fk452 235/40/18, Rally Armor Mudflaps, UR Cat Back, UR High Flow Cat, UR Downpipe, Ur UICP, AMS Intercooler, Defi Racer Boost Gauge, Defi Racer Oil Temperature Gauge, Eibach Sportlines, Rexpeed CF Hood Dampers, Rexpeed A-Pillar Gauge Pod, Rexpeed CF Duckbill Lip Spoiler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:49 PM
caRalliArt's Avatar
caRalliArt caRalliArt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: san diego county
Posts: 200
Default

Any fuse in the fuse pannel that has acc power can be used.For example the radio is only on when the key is turned to acc. With the key in the off position take a test light and test to see wich side of the fuse doesnt have power with the key off. After you find that out turn the key to acc and test to see if the side now has power.Turn the key off.pull the fuse out and wrap the power wire(usually red) around the side of the fuse that didnt have power with the key off. push the fuse back in.Y=This isnt the best metod for powering anything but ive used this method many times and has always worked without any problems

-To ground the gauge just take the black wire from the gauge.Find a metal bolt that wcrews into metal.loosen the bolt and wrap the gropund wire around it.Tighten the screw and your done.This is just a ground wire so dont worry about gettin shocked.VERY important to find a ground that is metal and only attaches to metal.

-Sorry I know you asked for pics but i dont have a way to upload them.But op stated he had never wired a gauge

Last edited by caRalliArt; 06-07-2011 at 08:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:59 PM
caRalliArt's Avatar
caRalliArt caRalliArt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: san diego county
Posts: 200
Default

sorry I never stated where to find the fuse pannel.Just look on the driverside kick pannel and look for a flap to pull open.Pull it off and look in and youll see ther fuses.I can post pics if anyone wants....itll be a pita but if it helps let me know
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:30 AM
Mkid's Avatar
Mkid Mkid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to Mkid Send a message via MSN to Mkid Send a message via Yahoo to Mkid
Default

Your image is correct.
__________________
Wedssport SA-55M 18X9 +20
CXRacing Evo X intercooler piping kit + BOV (Greddy Type-S)
Cobb AccessPORT Stage2 93 Octane
D2 RS Coilovers
Evo X FMIC
Ultimate Racing turbo-back
400HP clutches from Jack's
AEM Intake


My Car Thread

From Florida? Click here!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:35 AM
MTZL's Avatar
MTZL MTZL is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mountain Zone Lancer (MTZL)
Posts: 4,060
Default

I hope KrazyRA find this useful.

Can anyone post actual pic of the "T" & the engine bay?
Maybe pic of where the power & ground wires is routed.
(ie to the fuse panel)

Thanks Guy for chiming in & helping a fellow RA owner.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:49 AM
Mkid's Avatar
Mkid Mkid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to Mkid Send a message via MSN to Mkid Send a message via Yahoo to Mkid
Default

This is how mine looks, just snapped this pic:



The bottom green wire that goes off the picture is the ground, there is a bolt just off the picture near that yellow and black cable.
__________________
Wedssport SA-55M 18X9 +20
CXRacing Evo X intercooler piping kit + BOV (Greddy Type-S)
Cobb AccessPORT Stage2 93 Octane
D2 RS Coilovers
Evo X FMIC
Ultimate Racing turbo-back
400HP clutches from Jack's
AEM Intake


My Car Thread

From Florida? Click here!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:11 AM
caRalliArt's Avatar
caRalliArt caRalliArt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: san diego county
Posts: 200
Default

I will post pics of mine today.instead of using the fuse box in the engine bay.use the fuse panel in the car.if you use the fuse box you will have to run the wires and the vacume line through the fire wall.its a lot easier to use the fuse panel under the dash so you don't have to run wires through the fire wall.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:12 AM
Mkid's Avatar
Mkid Mkid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to Mkid Send a message via MSN to Mkid Send a message via Yahoo to Mkid
Default

Mine is an electronic gauge so everything was already in the engine bay.
__________________
Wedssport SA-55M 18X9 +20
CXRacing Evo X intercooler piping kit + BOV (Greddy Type-S)
Cobb AccessPORT Stage2 93 Octane
D2 RS Coilovers
Evo X FMIC
Ultimate Racing turbo-back
400HP clutches from Jack's
AEM Intake


My Car Thread

From Florida? Click here!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:43 AM
wwralliart77's Avatar
wwralliart77 wwralliart77 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 675
Send a message via Yahoo to wwralliart77
Default

Here's mine, I routed the vacuum line for the boost gauge through an existing hole in the firewall. I used an "add a fuse" kit from my local auto chain store that I spliced into the cig lighter fuse as my power source and I used a bolt on the frame for my ground.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0408.jpg (74.2 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0409.jpg (57.0 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0410.jpg (48.6 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0412.jpg (41.0 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (c) 2011 RnD Media LLC