ClubRalliart.com  
  #1  
Old 10-20-2011, 10:42 AM
Shilling's Avatar
Shilling Shilling is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Exclamation Serpentine Belt Replacement

Does anyone have any experience with replacing a serpentine belt on a 09 RA? Maybe a link to a How to with a diagram of how the belt is mounted? My belt went on my RA this morning
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:17 AM
TrailBrake TrailBrake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: At the apex
Posts: 1,007
Default

Hope this helps. It's a bit of a pain in the arse in terms of space to work...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg drive_belt_crankshaft_pulley.JPG (46.1 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:30 AM
BravoZero's Avatar
BravoZero BravoZero is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 3,212
Send a message via AIM to BravoZero
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrailBrake View Post
Hope this helps. It's a bit of a pain in the arse in terms of space to work...
Ha, have you ever replaced the alternator belt on a 1.6L Honda Civic? You have to remove two other belts to get to it. And it was very close quarters. That sucked royal donkey bawls.

This doesn't look TOO bad, but changing belts sucks in general.
__________________
-2014 Ford Focus ST///2.0L EcoBoost, 6 speed manual, ST3 package, Ingot Silver Metallic
-2011 Mitsu Lancer RALLIART "Veronica" (RETIRED)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 03:16 PM
TrailBrake TrailBrake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: At the apex
Posts: 1,007
Default

Haven't work on a Honda, but I get what you are saying
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2011, 03:18 PM
MTZL's Avatar
MTZL MTZL is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mountain Zone Lancer (MTZL)
Posts: 4,060
Default

You can get to the tensioner bolt from passenger wheel well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:35 PM
wutangmo15 wutangmo15 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 307
Default

You will most likely end up with bloody knuckles or fingers doing it yourself. Good luck and be careful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2013, 06:19 PM
Burngeart09 Burngeart09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 33
Default

I had taken my car in for a regular el cheap-o oil change, and it ended up costing me 800 bucks, because they said my serp belt and pulleys were shot. A bit strange since the LAST service I got, no mention of a 'hey, just a heads up..your belt is getting a little squirrly, you may wanna think about looking in to that'...boom, Here's your bill..oh, and we will wait till you call to find out why it's taking 5 hrs to do an oil change before we mention anything about it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2013, 07:43 PM
hotkupa's Avatar
hotkupa hotkupa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 234
Default

I changed mine not too long ago. My pulleys were in very good condition so i did not changed them. I had 2 pulleys on stand by in case mine were in bad condition. The whole kit: 2 pulleys + belt will cost you $46.31 (shipped) from Amazon and about 1.5 to 2 hours of work.

2x Gates 36323 Idler Pulley =$24.16
1X Gates K061033 Multi V-Groove Belt =$22.15
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2013, 01:32 AM
iralli_iskustvo's Avatar
iralli_iskustvo iralli_iskustvo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burngeart09 View Post
I had taken my car in for a regular el cheap-o oil change, and it ended up costing me 800 bucks, because they said my serp belt and pulleys were shot. A bit strange since the LAST service I got, no mention of a 'hey, just a heads up..your belt is getting a little squirrly, you may wanna think about looking in to that'...boom, Here's your bill..oh, and we will wait till you call to find out why it's taking 5 hrs to do an oil change before we mention anything about it.
Best way to get "El cheap-o" oil change is to DIY. Only thing I would be scared doing by myself is evo x turbo swap
__________________
RA - Built head - Built SST - ID1000cc - GTX3576R - GSC S2 cams - GSC beehives/Ti retainers - Timing Chain kit - ARP head studs - AMS fuel rail - AMS Widemouth dp - TurboXS exhaust - DrivenFab oil catch can - MAP oil pan - MAP cast manifold - AEM wideband - COBB 3 port EBCS - Tial QRJ - Sakura 3.5 intake - Kozmic Walbro 450 fuel pump - Depo Racing fmic/licp - TS engine/exhaust mounts - Cusco bar - D2 RS coil - Megan Racing control arms/toe - Whiteline sway bars - Brembo 6 piston


Tuned by TJ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:42 PM
RalliNurse's Avatar
RalliNurse RalliNurse is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Downey, CA
Posts: 1,367
Default

I'm bringing a dead thread back to life...

I'm close to 30,000 mile service and I know in the service manual it stated belt change is required.

I found this by Goodyear...

http://www.amazon.com/Goodyear-40610...1&s=automotive

Anyone have any thoughts?
__________________
Banking establishments is more dangerous then standing armies...

Phase 1
[X] Cosworth Drop-In
[X] UR Full Catback Exhaust
[X] UR Upper ICP
[X] UR Lower ICP
[X] Evo X FMIC
[X] Evo X BOV

Phase 2 - Breaks

Last edited by RalliNurse; 07-09-2014 at 01:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (c) 2011 RnD Media LLC