ClubRalliart.com Your ad here
Old 05-12-2010, 08:40 AM

Lightbulb HID kit help- only one side works

I recently installed an HID kit on my RA and only the left side works. I've gone through most of the troubleshooting, so I'm sure all of the connections are correct and none of the components are faulty (ie bulbs, ballasts). I've read that my next option is to install resistors on the side that isn't working which will tell the battery it needs to send more current to that side. Am I understanding this correctly? Is there anything else I can do to get both sides working without purchasing additional parts?

I'm new to the site too, so I appreciate you veterans' help!
Old 05-12-2010, 09:26 AM

So I'm guessing you didn't go for the Recaro package?

I'm no electrical engineer, but my understanding of a resistor is that it reduces/restricts/limits the flow in the path of a current. I don't know how installing it on the side that doesn't work would help things. Otherwise, I'm not going to be much help - sorry! Have you tried calling the manufacturer of the product?

BTW, welcome to the site. Hopefully you will find it of use!
Old 05-12-2010, 09:28 AM

are you sure the bulbs work......when you turn on the headlights does it make some nosie like the ballasts are turning on......??

you try to fock on meee!!!!!(aka HANG-OVER movie)
Old 05-12-2010, 09:54 AM

Yes as far as I have tested both bulbs are working, and the ballasts are receiving power. I did a little research and found it is usually a low voltage issue, but I thought someone here may have had some experience and could shed some light on the sitch...

Blackbeast- ouch! hah no I didn't, I couldn't justify 3g's for sound I can piece together for less, and I didn't think the recaro seats would save enough weight to make a big performance difference (but man those things are sweet!). And obviously I thought I could handle the HID conversion for $190 (I thought wrong...) Did you spring for the recaro package?